top of page
  • Writer's pictureTara Bergen

Ultimate Gift Guide for Adventurous Folk 2019 Edition

Updated: Oct 26, 2019

If you've followed my blog for a while, you might remember about a year ago I put out a Christmas gift-guide for people who love to travel, camp, be active, or simply have an adventurous soul. So me. And probably you if you're here.


I was originally inspired by the awful gift guides I keep finding on Pinterest in my struggles (no shade no tea), and how often I found myself thinking about how tacky the "gifts" were. Since there is no shortage of these gift guides, and no guaruntee that mine isn't also awful, I decided to make another, obviously.


But in all seriousness, I hope that someone actually finds this helpful and at the very least, you might see something to put on your own Christmas list.

 

Stocking Stuffers

1. A good sleep mask and earplugs - If the person you're shopping for spends any amount of nights sleeping somewhere that isn't their own bed (hotels, tents, planes, the floor of a grocery store, etc.), this is probably going to be a very useful gift. I've been grateful every time I remember my little sleep kit because there's always either too much light, or too much noise when sleeping in strange places. I recommend a satin sleep mask, and although I can't recommend the satin one I recently bought as it is trash, this one looks pretty great!



Photo by Tara Bergen IG: @itstaradelaney

2. Dehydrated food - This one may only sound useful for backpackers, but they're ultra convenient for other types of travel too. And they pretty much never expire. Plus, they can be pricey when you're buying a bunch of them, and since pretty much every aspect of backpacking is expensive, it's nice to take a bit of the financial load off knowing that some of your food is taken care of! Just a tip when buying, try to stay away from ones with beef as they can be wildly over-salted. A review of my favourite food packs that I've tried is coming soon!


3. Socks - Always a good idea. And hiking socks or athletic socks are expensive and get worn out so socks will always be well received. Unless your friend is under 12. Then probably don't. SmartWool even has a special sock finder for your perfect sock! And I personally am a huge fan of all of SmartWool's products.


4. Games - If your friend is under 12, or over 12, they might enjoy any of the games on this blog post I made recently! If you're looking for something good for travel, stick to the first couple sections, but all of these get a thumbs up from me.


Not too Big, Not too Small


Photo by Kennedy Anderson IG: @kennedykatherine__

1. PouchCouch Hammock - I actually have one of these and I love this thing. It's the easiest and fastest thing to set up, and is actually super comfortable. They also are apparently very durable. It's so relaxing to set up in the backyard on a summer night or next to my tent while camping. Would definitely recommend! Above is the Amazon link, and here is their website!


2. Gift Card to an Athletic Store - If you don't know exactly what they need, a gift card is always appreciated. And again, athletic type equipment is usually expensive so your gift will be put to good use!


3. Heated Car Blanket - I don't have the exact one linked, but I do have one of these and it's a life saver. On winter road trips I can sit under it and stay cozy, and on any give cold day, I can lay it over my seat and sit on it for a heated seat because my car is not so fancy.



Kennedy and I on our outdoor blankets at #YEGFolkFest

4. Outdoor Blanket - Any type of outdoor blanket whether it's a durable Mexican style blanket, or one of these water-resistant bottom blankets, is always useful for anyone who has summer activities! I like my Mexican blankets for around the fire because they don't get holes like some synthetic ones do, and the water-resistant ones are great for putting over grass or any damp day! Folk-Fest was a major use for these.


5. Quick-Dry Compact Towel - It's always good to have one of these around either in your car or in your backpack. I love the look of these towels by Tentree and Nomadix. They're 100% recycled materials and roll up so compact. I would looove to own one of these.


The Real Goodies

1.Grayl Filter Water Bottle - This bottle looks INCREDIBLE. You can get clean water super quickly anywhere in the world, which is not only handy while camping, but would be great for a trip to pretty much anywhere! I think about how much pain my heart was in over having to drink so much bottled water in Mexico, but this would easily solve that problem!


2. Quality Headphones - Whether on a plane or at the gym, quality headphones can change your experience so much. I personally have broken my fair share of cheap earbuds, and have had my ears crushed by ill-fitting over-ear headphones. They're expensive but ultimately worth it.


3. Smartphone Printer - Your adventurous friend probably has a lot of memories on their phone, and would love to have a way to quickly print small "Polaroids" of the moments they captured on their smartphone. I've wanted one of these for a while!


4. An Experience - What better gift for your friends who loves doing stuff than something to do? I recently posted a list of over 200 Date ideas (for friends or SOs) that you could look to for ideas! Some of my favourites that I've received in the past were a wood sign making day with my best friend, and a cooking night at Sorrentino's with my love!

 

Whatever you decide to get them, your friend is just lucky to have someone who is putting this much thought into their gift, ya big softie! Make sure to check out last year's post for more ideas that are probably still relevant.


I feel that it's also important for me also to disclose that at the time of writing, I am not affiliated with, or sponsored by any of the brands or products I've linked.



Thanks for reading!

xo Tara

IG: @itstaradelaney

112 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page