top of page
  • Writer's pictureTara Bergen

A Day with Socality x Canon in an Ice Castle

Updated: Feb 19, 2020


If you're a photographer, model, outdoorsy person, or someone who has spent a considerable amount of time on Instagram, you've probably at least heard of Socality. In case you haven't, (and I'm pretty new to it so this is just my initial takeaway) it's essentially an online and offline community of creative people who want to make a difference, and learn more about their art. They're heavily focused on the outdoor photography/video niche, and often host meetups and events for creators to learn, expand, create, and network.


I attended one of my first Socality events this January, in collaboration with Canon Canada, hosted at the Edmonton Ice Castles. I was stoked to hear about it because it's not often that Socality hosts an event in YEG, though it seems they are making an effort to do more. It was an awesome day and I met lots of people I want to work with further in the future! Here's how it went:

 

The day started at 8:00am at the castle entrance, where attendees were able to sign out new Canon equipment to use and experiment with for the day. I don't think enough people took advantage of this honestly, and if I had attended as a photographer, I would've snapped one of those cameras in a second! Either way, it was a thoughtful and cool perk.

Though the morning was only supposed to be a few degrees below freezing, it felt much colder inside the icy caverns. Gloves were a must and though I had worn a cute wintry outfit, I quickly found myself back in my coat. I'm not sure why every photo meetup I've been to has been so frigid, but I'm sure looking forward to the ones in summer! Not one person was wearing weather appropriate footwear, and I had to laugh because nearly every one of us had chosen "aesthetic" boots over warm ones. One can hardly blame us, however, as we were there to take photos and expecting a warmer morning. Despite the cold temperature, everyone was chatting, making friends, and creating beautiful photos and video all day.


I find events like this, where there are many people taking photos in one small environment, to be an exciting challenge. The thing that really makes a person stand out is being able to capture a unique shot in an area with tons of other creators attempting the same thing, and limited models. On that note, I was one of only 2 or 3 people there to model. While I love being behind the camera as well, I grew up in front of it and find I'm more comfortable there. I love collaborating with photographers and seeing the different style and talent they all bring to the table.

If you're new to photography, these events are an incredible learning experience as you'll get to watch veteran photographers work and thrive in that creative learning space! If you're new to modelling, it can be a bit nerve wracking, but still worth it. Since there are rarely very many people there exclusively to model (the photographers do occasionally step in front of the camera), you can end up with 5-10 cameras on you at once. It's difficult to pose to that many angles at once, and it will definitely be a learning curve. I have also found in the past that when I thought I was comfortable in front of 1 or 2 cameras, when that number is quadrupled, it's a totally different experience. That said, I've gotten used to it, and so can you! The more time you spend in different situations in front of a camera, the better you will get.


After a few hours of photo and video, everyone left for the Foundry Room, a beautiful venue above a coffee shop in Edmonton, where we were greeted with a huge selection of croissants and coffee. Some took the opportunity to eat, warm up and hang out, and some continued shooting at the change of scenery. We did a little of both, and I took my friend Kayla over to the window where she took some beautifully composed shots! I'm obsessed with her black & white work in particular.

Kayla, Kennedy (the friends I came with), and I finished up at the Foundry Room and each left with full hearts, full SD cards, and a commemorative handmade toque! I'm sure that every time you go to one of these events you will experience something new. There is always a new person with a new perspective, and there is no way you won't grow from that. I think that's what Socality is all about.


XO

Tara

Instagram: @itstaradelaney


86 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page