top of page
  • Writer's pictureTara Bergen

She Leads: Ryan Victoria of Mood. Consignment


Happy Sunday and welcome to She Leads, my blog series where we focus on women (identified) who have taken risks, and conquered self-doubt to take the leap into leadership. I'm so excited to bring you all along as I interview these women that I admire so much, and get to know them and their passions!


If you missed my last installment of this series, be sure to check it out! It features Phoebe Marinakis who started a company doing floral arrangement workshops, and is a fantastic photographer!

 

Today, we'll hear from Ryan Victoria, owner and founder of Mood. Consignment! I started out as an admirer and patron of Mood. just like anyone else, but through visiting many times over the course of a couple years, I've fallen in love with Ryan's expert branding of her business, and the consignment store that is perfectly marketed to young women who love fashion. After getting to know Ryan a bit, I saw how passionate and bubbly she is, and her heart for supporting young women. I had to grab the opportunity to work with her. At such a young age, she's already created such a cool community!


She is truly an inspiring and driven women, and I have no doubt she's well on her way to becoming a serious force to be reckoned with. Read our interview below:

 

Tell me a little bit about yourself!

I’m your average girly girl! I love all things beauty & fashion. I grew up loving clothes but also watched by dad open and run businesses and knew I wanted to do both! Enter Mood. Consignment!

What do you like to do for fun?

When I’m not working, I usually like to hang out with my family and friends. I have two shih tzu’s named Sam & Chloe that I’m obsessed with. I like to try new restaurants and go thrifting with my friends.

What does an average work day look like for you?

I usually work 6-7 days a week. Which can seem like a lot but I love what I get to do each day so it doesn’t always seem like work! Usually, I’m at the shop before we open, prepping new inventory, or I'll have a client in for a styling session! These are my absolute fav; I love making women feel beautiful and confident.

Tell me a little about your business(es).

Mood. Consignment is a consignment store stocked with trendy & current clothing and accessories. We started just selling Women’s wear, and now have branched out to Maternity and Men’s wear as well!


Mood. Consignment front desk features goodies from other small local businesses

What inspired you to start Mood Consignment?

I knew I always wanted to combine fashion and business. Before Mood., I would be spending my whole pay cheque on the latest drops at trendy stores in the mall, and then would be over the garment the second time I would wear it. It's just not sustainable or financially responsible. I was in Vancouver visiting family and I fell in love with a shop called Front and Company. It was half consignment and half new items. I registered for Fashion school [...] in Calgary. I graduated from Fashion Marketing and worked in Visual Design for a few years before moving back to Edmonton [and starting Mood.].


Since you mentioned sustainability, usually people will shop consignment or thrift as a way of reducing waste which is a great thing that shopping at Mood. will do! Are there other ways that you do, or hope to include sustainability into your business model?

With the amount of clothes that come into the shop being thousands and thousands of items, it's hard to imagine where these items would be if they weren't brought to us or donated. The more you learn about the negative effects the fashion industry has on the environment it really does make you think twice. Items at our shop will either find a new home or are donated to local organizations across Edmonton such as More Than A Fad. Eventually I would love to incorporate a swap program for any leftover items that don't sell during their allotted 3 month contract to give them a second chance!


What is your mission?

Having a space that makes everyone feel confident and beautiful without breaking the bank.


Photo by Sandy Weatherall @jinseimedia

What has been your biggest struggle so far?

Only being a year and a couple months into my business when Covid hit had to be the biggest struggle but it was also the time my business grew the most.

How did you overcome it?

We just had to figure out how to adapt, so if that meant loading my car with clothes from the store and photographing them in my parent’s hallway on a 3M hook, that’s what we did. I offered curbside pickups once a week. My consigners were still making money and I was still able to stay afloat [...] With so much unknown the last year and a half I feel you always have to be prepared.

Adabtability is so important! It's great that you were able to find ways to work around the pandemic.

What would you say has been the most powerful tool for your success?

Instagram. I started an IG page with a post saying Coming Soon and my parents house was FULL of clothes within a couple weeks. I would spend hours online messaging prospective clients and influencers. At the beginning all that building my brand cost me was my time.

How has support from other women played a role in your success?

Women I had never met were so quick to support my business from the very beginning! I think people love to support something they can see you are so passionate about. I make a conscious effort in my life to support the young girls in my community that have a dream just like I did. It’s never to late to go after your dream!


Why do you think people are responding so positively to your company?

I really like to think that you attract the energy you put out into the world, and how you treat others is SO important. I would like to think everyone that enters our shop feels appreciated and valued as a customer or consigner.

Is there something you wish you knew before getting started?

I think I knew what I was getting myself into after watching my dad run businesses most of my life. I knew that it would be a lot of hard work but it would be worth it.

From what I’ve seen as a supporter of Mood. Consignment, you have a lovely small team of staff who works with you, what has it been like building a team?

I started Mood. in my parents' spare bedroom with nothing but a few bags of clothes from my friends, an Instagram account and VERY supportive parents. I worked extremely hard to build my business from the ground up. At the beginning, I had a hard time with the idea of who I would trust with “my baby”. Now I am lucky to have an incredible tight knit team that is just as passionate about Mood. As I am! I am very lucky.


Any specific accounts you want to shout out that you draw inspiration from, or who supported you along the way?

The Main Exchange & Peacock Boutique have been my inspiration for the consignment side of my business. The Skinny & Floc Boutique are YEG businesses that I aspire to be as successful as. Both are run by amazing local women!


Last month, you put on Mood. Market for the first time, a very successful outdoor market featuring other small, locally owned businesses, and this month you're doing it again! What was the inspiration behind that?

I love event planning. If I hadn't opened Mood. that's probably what I would be doing. From a young age my mom always threw the most amazing parties. I was itching to throw an event after not being able to for so long. I also LOVE supporting local women in the community. We have the space so why not share it! It was a huge success and we cannot wait to do it again this month with even more local businesses.


Given the initial success of the Market, is this something you'd like to make a regular event?

Yes! We have our July & August markets planned and we have added even more businesses and artists.


Do you have any specific goals for Mood. moving forward? Where do you hope it goes?

My biggest goal that I would like to accomplish in the next couple months would be expansion to a bigger location. We have outgrown our space 2 times now in the last 2.5 years that I would like to find a forever home!


Is there anything you'd like to promote right now?

Our Market Dates!

July 24th 11-4

August 22nd 11-4

Outdoors at 17520 108th AVE NW


That's incredible! Congratulations on your success.

Where can people find you to support you?

Our Shop is at 17520 108th AVE NW

On Instagram we're @Mood_consignment


Thank you so much to Ryan for taking the time to answer these questions, and to all the readers for taking your time to learn about and support these female leaders in our community!


 

Go check out Mood. Consignment for a wardrobe update! You'll definitely find some amazing stuff when you're there, and while you're ballin' on a budget, check out my list of 10 Interior Designer approved ways to update your home decor for FREE!


XO

Tara


YouTube: ItsTaraDelaney

Amazon shop: Itstaradelaney


All photos not tagged with a photographer are credited to Ryan Victoria


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page